Manzalab, participant in the XPrize Global Learning Challenge

Banner

Manzalab is a proud contestant in the XPrize Global Learning Challenge – a project to challenge teams around the world to create applications that allow children in developing countries to teach themselves basic reading, writing and arithmetic.

For our company, this is the most beautiful challenge imaginable: developing numeric solutions for access to knowledge that inspire and engage the child’s curiosity through self-directed learning.

This project is in fact in perfect harmony with our core company values.

 

Core Value 1: Learning is a game

Our core business is developing serious games, which means that any challenge we tackle will be undoubtedly fun!

For our team, games are powerful vectors for learning. Our company logo is the apple – symbol of knowledge… but also the fruit of pleasure and transgression. In our experience, games also often carry the negative connotation as an activity distracting us from what we should be doing… a waste of time.

Today, however, the research community offers a powerful argument for the importance of learning through play, as a growing body of research offers evidence to the efficient deep learning that games have the potential to provide. Given the relevance of these findings to our work, for the last two years, we have been partnering with Professor Stanislas Dehaene (cognitive psychology experimental chair of Collège de France). Pr. Dehaene first caught our attention with his work on attention, active engagement, feedback and consolidation as the Four Pillars of Learning; these principles constitute the grammar of gaming and the foundation of the Manzalab pedagogy. In coherence with this scientific corner stone, our team for this contest combines our expertise in serious games and Pr. Dehaene’s 20 years of research in cognitive sciences of learning.

Games hold a central role here at Manzalab in all that we do, not only as a means to provide learning technology, but also because the founders of Manzalab are serious gamers! Our company president, Clément Merville, is two-time French Champion (1989, 1992) of the game Diplomacy, a strategy board-game. He even recruited his main opponent Samy Malki, Diplomacy champion in 1991 and 1997! We also hold monthly games nights at the company where everyone is invited to participate in video, board and card game challenges. Competing is deep in our company game culture … so it came as little surprise when it was announced that we are competing in the XPrize challenge!

 

Core Value 2: Having fun at work

Manzalab was created in 2010 by three friends. Our president, Clément Merville and associate director, Vincent Berlioz wanted a company that offers employees an authentic commitment to a humane living environment. We do not just sell serious games to our clients; we also live by our ethos- have fun at work (our philosophy is well resumed in the following article in the French newspaper Les Echos).

Today, Manzalab is 35 people strong, all experts in gaming and pedagogy and equally passionate about work! Every project that we take on is brought to life (or the screen) by a collective effort of talent and ambition. Today, we are proud to say that Manzalab is equally successful in business, recognized as an industry leader in in Serious Games, as it is in building a company culture founded on fun and generosity.

Having fun at work means enjoying working together, and enjoying working on meaningful projects such as this XPrize project. For Clément Merville, “The XPrize Global Learning contest is a voyage, a human experience. A numerical education solution for all is particularly dear to our heart and our team is passionately invested.”

 As participants in the XPrize, Manzalab has constituted a team of developers, graphic designers, and experts in application design. Our team, Digited, is led by Cassandra Potier Watkins, research engineer in cognitive science under the tutelage of Pr. Dehaene. Digited is developing the project Kalulu, a suite of delightful educational apps, open source and available in English, French and Swahili.

We are putting our best efforts in the XPrize challenge, but in the end, we are rooting for the kids to win this game.

www.kalulu-education.com

www.manzalab.com

Manzalab participe au concours XPrize Global Learning Challenge

Banner

Manzalab est heureuse et fière de participer au concours XPrize Global Learning Challenge. Ce projet propose un défi aux développeurs du monde entier : créer des applications qui permettront aux enfants de pays en voie de développement d’apprendre à lire, écrire et compter – et ce, de manière autonome.

Pour Manzalab, il s’agit là du plus beau défi du monde : donner accès au savoir par le biais de la technologie, attiser la curiosité des enfants, leur donner le pouvoir d’apprendre seuls.

Ce projet est en parfait accord avec les valeurs de Manzalab.

 

Valeur numéro 1 : apprendre par le jeu 

Manzalab est un créateur de Serious Games – des jeux vidéo à vocation pédagogique. Notre approche du défi XPrize sera donc résolument ludique !

Pour Manzalab, le jeu est un vecteur puissant d’apprentissage. Le symbole de Manzalab est la pomme, fruit de la connaissance mais aussi fruit du plaisir et de la transgression : le jeu n’est-il pas perçu comme un loisir, voire une « perte » de temps ?
Or les neurosciences le confirment : apprendre par le jeu, c’est apprendre efficacement et durablement. En la matière, Manzalab travaille en partenariat permanent avec le Professeur Stanislas Dehaene, titulaire de la chaire Psychologie cognitive expérimentale du Collège de France et auteur de la théorie des « Quatre piliers de l’apprentissage ». Ces quatre piliers que sont l’Attention, l’Engagement actif, le Feedback et la Consolidation, constituent la grammaire même du jeu vidéo et fondent la pédagogie de Manzalab.
En cohérence avec cet ancrage scientifique, notre équipe pour ce concours XPrize combine les deux atouts : l’expertise de Manzalab en matière de jeu vidéo et les acquis de 20 ans de recherche en sciences cognitives de l’apprentissage du Professeur Dehaene.

Ainsi, le jeu tient une place centrale chez Manzalab : comme vecteur d’apprentissage, mais aussi parce que ses fondateurs et collaborateurs sont férus de jeux – ce sont même de sérieux joueurs ! Chez Manzalab, tous les mois se tient une « soirée jeux », moment de convivialité privilégiée où il n’existe plus de hiérarchie, seulement des joueurs. Notre président Clément Merville affiche même la particularité d’avoir été deux fois Champion de France de Diplomacy, le jeu de plateau de stratégie, en 1989 et 1992. Il n’a pas hésité à recruter dans son équipe son plus grand concurrent de l’époque, Samy Malki, champion de France de Diplomacy en 1991 et 1997 !
Rien d’étonnant donc à ce que nous ayons choisi de nous lancer dans l’arène du concours XPrize.

 

Valeur numéro 2 : le plaisir au travail

Manzalab a été créée en 2010 par trois amis. Son président Clément Merville et son directeur associé Vincent Berlioz ont su mettre en place une culture humaine, authentique et bienveillante, avec pour valeur centrale le plaisir au travail (une philosophie bien résumée dans cette interview donnée par Clément au journal Les Echos Business).

L’équipe compte aujourd’hui 35 collaborateurs, tous experts des métiers du jeu vidéo ou de la pédagogie, tous passionnés, tous joyeux de se retrouver le matin ! Chaque projet est porté par une conjonction de talents, une ambition collective. Et ces valeurs généreuses sont couronnées de succès : l’entreprise occupe une place de tout premier plan dans le paysage du serious game.

Plaisir de travailler ensemble, plaisir de contribuer à des projets porteurs de sens tels que le projet XPrize. Pour Clément Merville, « Le concours XPrize Global Learning est un voyage, une expérience humaine. Ce projet d’éducation numérique pour tous nous tient particulièrement à coeur et l’équipe s’y investit avec passion ».

Dans le cadre de sa participation au concours XPrize, Manzalab a constitué une équipe composée de développeurs, graphistes et d’experts en applications : l’équipe DigitEd. Cette équipe est menée par Cassandra Potier Watkins, ingénieur de recherches en sciences cognitives sous la tutelle du Pr Dehaene. DigitEd portera le projet Kalulu, une suite d’applications éducatives et ludiques en open source, disponibles en anglais, français et swahili.

Nous mettons tout notre coeur dans ce concours XPrize – mais ce que nous en espérons par-dessus tout, c’est la victoire des enfants.

www.kalulu-education.com
www.manzalab.com